Food

Natural Sugar Recipe: Banana and Avocado Smoothie

photo 4It’s no secret that food is much more appealing when it’s vibrant and colorful, and the foods that know this better than the rest are fruits and veggies. Unfortunately, I’ve never been that into either of those things. In fact if it came down to either reaching for the apple or bag of chips in the room, I’d have my hands coated in Cheetos dust within ten minutes. But obviously that’s a habit that needed to change, and since giving up refined sugars, I needed to find a way to spruce up natural sugars to incorporate into my diet.

How did I do it? I went to social media. (Raise your hand if you’re surprised.) I stalked Pinterest, I stalked bloglovin, and it turns out there are LOTS of people out there taking on the same challenge. And after coming across Fresh, Fit and Fearless, I read a little, shut my laptop and headed straight to the kitchen. Lila’s Banana Avocado smoothie recipe served as the healthy inspiration I needed to actually enjoy breakfast with all the right ingredients. The only modification I made to the actual smoothie was adding Kale, as well as my toppings.

While banana and avocado might seem like an odd combination, trust me when I say that it’s delicious, and also genuinely good for you.

To start, both bananas and avocados are loaded with Potassium, a natural migraine-fighting powerhouse, and if you know me, you know my migraine headaches will set me straight to a dark room. So it’s no surprise that I was into this  recipe for that reason. More generally though, avocados  are low in sugar, high in fiber, and are packed with monounsaturated fats  that help reduce levels of bad cholesterol in your blood. Bananas on the other hand are loaded with fiber to help to control your heart rate, blood pressure, and digestive system. The list could go on and on.

So for now, try out Lila’s Smoothie bowl and tell me what you think! You can leave a comment, or give me something good on the Tweeter @julesandjava. Happy eating!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Natural Sugar Recipe: Banana and Avocado Smoothie

Leave a Reply

