Pop Culture

Next on Netflix

I’m a pretty big fan of the documentary section of Netflix, and it’s simply because I like learning new things. Call me crazy. It’s not that I haven’t tried before to get myself into a shameless TV series binge on sick days or long weekends, but when I finish a series, I just don’t get that same feeling of accomplishment.

So here’s what’s next on my list of docs to watch. Feel free to comment if you’ve seen any, or if you simply want to bond over mutual geekery.

SOMM

To be fair, I’ve seen this one, but it’s one I could watch over and over again, and if you’re a wine-o like me, you’re going to love it. Somm is a documentary follows four men looking to pass one of the most impossible exams in the world: The Master Sommelier exam. Only 220 people in the entire world possess the title that makes them masters of wine, able to sip just a bit of the stuff and tell you exactly where in the world it’s from, amongst other really impressive facts. Be prepared to unintentionally burst out cheering for your favorite candidate. I might’ve.

519Q9TknGNL._SX940_Since giving up added sugars, I’ve noticed a few positive changes happening in my body, and it’s something I want to see continue. While I don’t think I could ever go completely vegan, I’m definitely inspired to incorporate more plants into my diet. Nothing wrong with a little healthy inspiration, amiright?

10144385-large

It’s no surprise that print media has gone through serious some changes since the internet’s become a thing, and this documentary highlights how a publication like the New York Times manages to maintain the ways of traditional journalism despite that. One of the journalists in the film is David Carr, who’s recently passed away. I remember catching clips of this documentary in a class lecture in college, and actually ended up buying Carr’s book The Night of the Gun after hearing him speak for maybe 20 seconds. Great and immensely powerful read if you’re looking for a reason to go to the bookstore.

Standard

Leave a Reply

